October 2016 – National Magic Day

October is just one of my favourite months of the year, with it being Autumn it’s officially getting closer to my Birthday and Christmas. Following on from my series, Monday 31 October officially marks National Magic Day. Along with also celebrating Halloween, a spooky holiday that is celebrated across the world.

National Magic Day is observed by magic lovers and is also part of National Magic Week. I love the whole concept of this as I believe it’s an interesting day to mark, especially as it’s also the day where Harry Houdini died. Houdini was an illusionist and stunt performer from America, who through his performances became popular.

Even though Houdini has been dead now for over 90 years now, he is still known to everyone. Especially when I was growing up, learning magic and slight of hand myself. National Magic Day grew from Houdini Day when a Chicago member of the Society of American Magicians sought official sanction.

October 31 was proclaimed National Magic Day in Houdini’s memory. This sounds as if it’s primarily something that is celebrated by the Society of American Magicians rather than an international celebration. It’s still cool to know about the day and the history behind it though, knowing it’s not only Halloween.

I feel this day is more interesting than something like National Girlfriend Day or even National Step Family Day. Yes they are both real days, go Google them if you don’t believe me. It’s weird to think that Houdini died on the day we now know as Halloween, it’s such a magical and spooky day which is what I love.

I hope you have enjoyed this post and a brief insight into National Magic Day. Let me know in the comments below what you like to do on Halloween. Also, Happy Halloween! Hope you’ve had a magical and spooky day.

Signature

Leave a Reply

