My Blogging Journey

There have been things that have been and gone in my life, but one thing that I’ve been consistent and proud of is my blogging journey. I can’t take credit for this post idea, Jenny in Neverland recently shared her blogging journey and I loved the idea of sharing how I started, my favourite moments and the future. Thank-you Jenny for sharing your journey! It was such an insightful post and I am so proud of everything you’ve achieved.

I started An Ocean Glimmer in October 2013, for college I had to create a blog to showcase my writing. As this was something I had to do, I never had the passion like I do now, I didn’t last long before stopping. When I was writing for The Checkered Flag I would share a mini blurb and direct traffic to The Checkered Flag. I didn’t restart An Ocean Glimmer probably until May 2016 with my very first post, Free Comic Book Day 2016.

I slowly started sharing things I was interested in and the places I visited, I didn’t have a schedule, I would just post here and there. A part of me loved when I received a new follower on An Ocean Glimmer and Twitter, it was crazy to think there were people out there reading and following. I didn’t have a clue of what I was doing, to be honest, I was just going with the flow and hoping for the best.

I was just writing posts because I enjoyed it and I didn’t think too much into it. I would go days or weeks without looking at my blog which seems ridiculous now, considering I do this every day! My very first collaboration with a brand was with PROPERCORN in September 2016, just over two years ago. I can remember like it was yesterday feeling really proud that someone said yes to my collaboration request.

Since that moment, I have worked with a range of brands, including Altruist Dermatologist Sunscreen, Creoly and Faith in Nature, my most popular collaboration was with HOLLYWOOD BROWZER. It’s really impressive to look back on how far I’ve come with these collaborations, I am really thankful for all the opportunities I’ve received. I’m excited to see where my blogging will not only take me over the next six months but the next year.

IMG_0751.jpg

The past year I have taken blogging very seriously, I have tried my hardest to blog consistent and produce quality, not quantity. Some of my posts have been over 1,000 words, thank you if you’ve read one of those posts! I also love mixing content up and featuring different topics on An Ocean Glimmer all staying within my favourites of beauty, lifestyle and stationery.

It’s good to not have a niche and be open to topics to write about. I am so proud of how far I have come since blogging full-time, I have finally reached 3.5k followers on Twitter and now I’m close to 1k followers on Instagram. Also, I’ve reached 15k views on An Ocean Glimmer! For 2018 my blog goal is 20k views, unfortunately, I don’t think I’ll reach this but I’ve still come a long way since the start of the year.

Where do I hope to go from here?

At the moment, I don’t see myself going much further than this with blogging. It’s not something I see myself doing full-time but in the meantime, it’s great as I’m learning so much and meeting some great people. Blogging is different for everyone, as long as I continue to be motivated and inspired, I’ll be happy! It’s hard work but I don’t want this to all go to waste as I have already come a long way.

Looking back on my Blogging Goals, I haven’t improved as much as I would have liked but with a full-time job, it’s been hard. I think overall it is hard to increase traffic to your blog, I definitely haven’t got this worked out. There has been an improvement compared to 2017 but not that jump like I had hoped. Maybe if I put my mind to it I can finish on a high note and have a good Blogmas.

I am so incredibly grateful for all the support I have received, thank you to everyone who has shared, commented or viewed. You all mean the world to me and I’m glad I create content you love. Onwards and upwards as we head into the last couple of months in 2018.

I hope you have enjoyed this post! I would love to hear about your blogging
journey and where you would love to go next.

signature

Follow me on: Bloglovin’ | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

15 thoughts on “My Blogging Journey

  1. This is such an interesting post Gemma! Thank you for sharing your blogging journey, it sounds like you have had great achievements and worked with awesome brands. My very first collaboration was with Creoly, yay for stationery! All the best for the rest of the year and hope you reach your goals ❤ xx

    Bexa | http://www.hellobexa.com

    Like

    1. You’re welcome Bexa, I’m glad you’ve enjoyed! Received a good response from this. Yes most definitely, it’s great reflecting on your blogger journey and how far you’ve come. Brings up some great memories. Oooh that’s exciting! I like Creoly, such a shame about their collaboration scheme not continuing.

      Like

  2. I love your point about not having a niche, I don’t really have one either and I think it’s the best way to be. I never feel restricted by what I can write about and it’s my favourite kind of blog to read too, I like a good amount of choice in what I read. Thanks for sharing your journey so far, all the best for the future!

    Megan // https://pixieskiesblog.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.